Mesh on a cylinder that specifies the numbers of elements longitudinally and cross sectionally

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

How to mesh a cylinder that specifies the numbers of elements longitudinally and cross sectionally? Swept seems to work for longitudinal elements.

8 Replies Last Post Apr 26, 2024, 11:30 p.m. EDT
Magnus Ringh COMSOL Employee

Posted: 3 weeks ago Apr 11, 2024, 6:56 a.m. EDT

Hi Carl,

I'm not an expert on meshing, but I think you can do it by specifying a custom mesh size along the edges for the bottom circular boundary and then sweep based on that mesh with another custom mesh size for the longitudal sweep direction. That should give you control of the swept mesh in both directions.

Best regards,

Magnus

Hi Carl, I'm not an expert on meshing, but I think you can do it by specifying a custom mesh size along the edges for the bottom circular boundary and then sweep based on that mesh with another custom mesh size for the longitudal sweep direction. That should give you control of the swept mesh in both directions. Best regards, Magnus

Posted: 2 weeks ago Apr 12, 2024, 9:59 a.m. EDT

Hi Magnus, Thank you so much. How to specify a custom mesh size along the edges for the bottom circular boundary is what I wonder!

Hi Magnus, Thank you so much. How to specify a custom mesh size along the edges for the bottom circular boundary is what I wonder!

Posted: 2 weeks ago Apr 12, 2024, 10:10 a.m. EDT

Hi Carl,

Use an Edge mesh generator from Mesh>More Generators>Edge and apply it to the bottom circumferential edges. Then add a Size subnode and choose Custom under Element Size so that you can set a fixed mesh element size under Element Size Parameters.

Best regards,

Magnus