Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

PML refractive index

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I am studying a model of Step index fiber and I want to put a cylindrical PML around the core. What should be the refractive index of the PML , should be same as refractive index of the cladding or air?

Thanks in advance

Akhilesh

18 Replies Last Post Jul 10, 2017, 9:13 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 25, 2012, 2:21 p.m. EDT
Hi

from my experience you need some air around the fibre, then a PML of air all around (basically the PML should have the same material as the adjacent domain, and should all be the same.

I do believe it will work to extend the glass and have PML in glass, but that means you have an infinite extend of glass and no glass air interface, but pls check carefully if this works correctly, I'm not 100% sure

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi from my experience you need some air around the fibre, then a PML of air all around (basically the PML should have the same material as the adjacent domain, and should all be the same. I do believe it will work to extend the glass and have PML in glass, but that means you have an infinite extend of glass and no glass air interface, but pls check carefully if this works correctly, I'm not 100% sure -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago May 26, 2012, 9:11 p.m. EDT
Akhilesh,