Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

sessile droplet simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everybody!

I am a PhD student and using the microfluidics module of COMSOL. I want to simulate a sessile droplet placed on a flat horizontal surface with specified contact angles in axial 2D system. For this I use the phase field method that solves the Cahn-Hilliard equation coupled with the Navier-Stokes equation. First I have to initialize the phase field function in the simulation domain after which I apply the time dependent solver to set the correct contact angles. But during the simulation the integral of the phase field function does not conserve! The longer the solver runs the less the volume of the droplet becomes. And this is a numerical phenomenon not physical! Is there anybody here who experienced similar things? By the way I experience the same when using the level set method instead of phase field method.

I guess it is something wrong with the setting of constants involved in either method, though I followed what the tutorial suggested.

I would really appreciate an answer from an expert.
Daniel

7 Replies Last Post Jul 25, 2016, 1:11 a.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Jan 26, 2010, 4:55 p.m. EST
I don't have experience with phase field method but I am guessing that the method does not necessarily intrinsically conserve volume (similar to volume of fluid method). So the logical approach would be to somehow impose a volume conservation constraint (i.e. total volume remains the same). Not sure how it can be implemented though.

Ozgur