Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Effective Medium Theory modelling of core-shell nanoparticles.

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi All,

I'm really glad to see an active online community here in COMSOL to help each other solve our issues.

I need help to model a core-shell embedded dielectric matrix which follows effective medium approximation. Initially I'm starting with 2d disks and I plan to extend it to 3d spheres eventually. My goal is to calculate
1.effective permittivity and polarization of the resultant medium.

I'm a beginner in COMSOL so any kind of help is highly appreciated. Inputs on modeling and some tips to begin with are most welcomed. I'm always open to discussions and suggestions so feel free to leave your comments.

Warm Regards,
Rajesh.

7 Replies Last Post May 8, 2010, 12:18 a.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago May 7, 2010, 12:05 a.m. EDT
Rajesh,

From the last two months of my experience in COMSOL, I would strongly reccomend the following,

1.) Analytically simulate as much of your model in Matlab as possible and make sure you know what you need to expect from the COMSOL model later.

2.) In COMSOL, I personally use the "Scattered Hybrid Mode" in "Physics" under "Properties". I am not fully confident with this but more so than I am with the "Hybrid Mode".

3.) Make sure you know which domains you want your sources in.

4.) Every boundary must have a condition associated with it, If your wave is normally incident then, you could probably get away with using the Periodic Continuity boundary with a PML below your "special dielectric"

You also need to take care and maybe use matched boundaries at several locations