Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to control temperature ramp up/down time?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I'm new in COMSOL. Currently I'm trying to simulate the stress on SiO2 thin film on silicon wafer based on the temperature ramp up/down from furnace.

I'm currently using time-dependent Heat Transfer module together with Structural Mechanics module to conduct the simulation, but I'm unable to find any place where I can specify the starting / ending temperature as well as the linear temperature ramp time. Can I set a parameter such as $time for time-dependence?

Can anyone give me some suggestion?

Thanks,

Albert

2 Replies Last Post Sep 2, 2011, 3:38 p.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Sep 2, 2011, 3:39 a.m. EDT
Hi,

you can use COMSIOLs time variable 't' to define a time-dependent expression for the heated (cooled) boundaries or domains.

Cheers
Edgar
Hi, you can use COMSIOLs time variable 't' to define a time-dependent expression for the heated (cooled) boundaries or domains. Cheers Edgar

Posted: 1 decade ago Sep 2, 2011, 3:38 p.m. EDT
Thanks. Here is the problem:

boundary 1: symmetry
--------------------------------------------------
boundary 2: boundary not set |
---------------------- furnace with air |
Silicon wafer | boundary 3||||||| boundary 6
---------------------- furnace with air |
boundary 4: boundary not set |
--------------------------------------------------
boundary 5: symmetry

Boundaries 2-4 form the silicon wafer region, while boundaries 1,5,6 form the surrounding furnace region containing air. I want the boundaries 6 to linearly ramp the temperature from T_start to T_end.